Disruptions: Era of Smart Phones and Dumb People


1-tablets

I miss my random day in the weekend by sitting or relaxing in my bedroom. Thinking something that i don’t really understand what should I do? No outdoor activity. I still have my phone with me, but I try to leave it in my purse. Now I find myself just taking in a moment, and I don’t have to post a picture about it. I had a vague feeling of unease. I felt like something was missing, but I didn’t know what and today I’m making a living doing what I love.

Last weekend, i was browsing the week’s most popular YouTube videos. Then I found The two-minute video called “I Forgot My Phone” caught my eye. Which has been viewed more than 25 million times, begins with a couple in bed. The woman, actress Charlene deGuzman, stares silently while her boyfriend pays no mind and checks his smartphone.

Please watch this video. Sometimes we missed the things that are right in front of our eyes, this is what you get when you allow technology to control your life…

It really looks like the end of the world. The sad thing is, this is actually true. People are so sucked into their phones, and I regret to say I’m guilty of the same. It’s like a bad horror movie.

It’s a direct hit on our smartphone-obsessed culture, needling us about our addiction to that little screen and suggesting that maybe life is just better led when it is lived rather than viewed. While the clip has funny scenes — a man proposing on a beach while trying to record the special moment on his phone — it is mostly … sad.

This feels like that part of a horror/apocalypse movie where slowly and silently everything starts to turn bad but nobody has noticed yet. Like when the plaguw starts to spread or a few people find the dangerous alien devices that secretly turn them into zombies. I can’t count the number of times I have been seated in a restaurant next to a family in which the parents are talking or watching the sports on the TV, while the children – sometimes as young as 7 or 10 – are handed smart phones or video games to play with. I find this ineffably sad.

Because smart phones save so much time and money, people can spend their time on things that are “more important” Such as staring at their phones, right? Cheking their facebook or catch up on the latest celebrity gossip? Live online critiquing, twittering and food photography (blinding with flash not disabled) cannot meaningfully capture nor preserve what is supposed to be an ephemeral experience of shared companionship around a highly anticipated dining event. Remember it’s not just phones. Include the millions of people who own iPods, iPads, whatever. They all have that same social networking shit.

I see couples eating in restaurants all the time where both have phones in their palms almost the entire meal. I always wonder what it must be like for them in bed. I mean, what if the battery died, would they stop to plug it in?
“I’ll be back in a minute.”
“It’s okay, I’ll check my Facebook page while you’re gone…”

BlackBerry-fans-at-Nicki-Minaj-concert-2-2-580x384

And see what happens when You are at the concert, look at the people. Why are they filming the concert?! If it’s for watching later, then just watch on youtube, you don’t need to go to the concert.

Last week, the Unsound music festival in Poland banned fans from recording the event, saying it did not want “instant documentation” and distractions that might take away from the performances. In April, during a show in New York City, Karen O, the lead singer of the rock band the Yeah Yeah Yeahs, told audience members to put away their phones (using an expletive to emphasize her point). — NY Times, September 1, 2013, 11:00 am

Smartphone-at-Concert

Techno gadget use at cinemas and cultural events really ruin it for non users…Disseminating poor quality or incomplete smartphone captured videos and photos of concerts and other events could well debase their cultural currency, infringe copyright, reduce the incentive for audiences to attend shows and divert the recorder’s attention.

Since smart phones became ubiquitous, I certainly have not noticed people having more free time or enjoying more of anything. They seem much more like slaves to their phones, having to check their “status” every ten seconds. I don’t think the way we have been using smart phones is making society any better. Also, if you need your phone to find a Starbucks, you must suffer from some sort of blindness. There is one on every corner.

The great thing about holding a smartphone is that it lets people pretend to be a lot smarter and more interesting than they really are.  I just wish they could stop pretending while they eat, talk or drive.

I wish I could live an hour without my phone. So I inspired to run an international campaign “Moodoff Day” about smartphone addiction. Why it’s MoodOff day because whenever an individual was asked to quit using web and their smartphones, to get a minute their whole mood is off. Individuals discuss smartphone addiction, but the true message is getting lost in all of the discussion.

I’m highly suspicious that anyone needs to look at their phone all that often unless it is an integral function of their livelihood. When I’m at home I have a desktop computer, multiple televisions and music systems and reading materials of various kinds. When I’m out I’m busy doing things. These may be errands and driving, but I don’t need the phone for any of this. When I’m with others, most particularly in the future when i have my wife, I promise never look at the phone.

So the constant need to look at one’s phone becomes a habit in and of itself…unless one happens to have enough friends with the same habit, which may include pointlessly texting or scanning social media. Really, just more habits. A smartphone is a tool. Use it when you really need it. Otherwise, leave it alone. “Smart hours for Smart people without smartphones”.

You live once, you take control.

12 thoughts on “Disruptions: Era of Smart Phones and Dumb People

  1. Once someone here said:
    People are so worried about to capture the moment, that they miss the whole moment.

  2. omg so awesome sharing it with all my friends right now
    what is wrong with this world!!!!!!
    I’ve never been more proud of the fact that I don’t own a cell/mobile phone.
    (Only sort of joking…)

    gila ya ..kayak barusan diceramahin..kangen gw sama lu pengen cerita-cerita kayak dulu lagi

  3. I am going to say something fairly sacrilegious. It is not, and never has been, that fulfilling to interact with others. That is why people prefer their phones. Aloneness is not a new phenomenon and I suspect that people were no less alone before smartphones.

  4. A cute video. However. in 2012, a film was produced, screened at the Palm Beach International Film Festival in 2013. It is it the first short film to address the obsession and silliness of excessive texting and cell phone use. Enjoy this short film, used as a training aid across the country.

Leave a Reply

